Home » Articles » Reviews

09 December 2016
VA - Unknown Landscapes Vol 4


    Led by Spain's most influential techno acts, record label PoleGroup has been making its fans happy with yearly VA release series titled Unknown Landscapes, first episode of which was published in 2013. From episode to episode, releases were varying in featured artists and number of tracks, but keeping the bar at the level of PoleGroup's household quality. Let's see what we've got.

    This time, we're presented with 22 in total and 17 techno tracks from the label's regulars (numbers 1 and 22 being completely beatless and numbers 18, 19 and 21 being downtempo rather than techno works), such as Reeko (two tracks!), Exium (along with contributions from Kessel and Tensal), and Oscar Mulero (for some reason, Christian Wünsch couldn't make an appearance), as well as artists that are new to the label, namely Reggy Van Oers, DJ Hyperactive, Kangding Ray, Positive Centre, et al. The tempos are varying from 117 to 133, but the mean value here, as you should expect, is 128 BPM. As always, digital version comes with a mix of all tracks which were put together and mixed by Reeko, and that is a mix which is pressed on CD. A vinyl side-release entitled Unknown Landscapes Selected 4, containing 4 tracks selected from the main release, was scheduled for release in January 2017.


Release Type: Album / VA

Release Date: 9 December 2016

Release Format: Digital ● CD

Record LabelCatalog: PoleGroup ● POLEGROUP42CD

Purchase Links: BeatportJunodownloadBandcampBoomkatJuno


Category: Reviews
| Added by: rhetor
| Tags: LP, PoleGroup, VA, Techno, 2016